List of UNESCO's World Heritage in North America

Below is a full list of world heritage of UNESCO in the continent of North America. To view all North American countries, check Countryaah website site.

List of UNESCO's World Heritage in North America

United States of America

The United States of America, Uncle Sam, the land of opportunity, is a state in North America. The capital is Washington, DC. Approx. 310 million Americans and Americans of other nationalities live in the USA. The official language is English. The United States of America covers an area of ​​around 10 million km². The highest mountain in the USA is Mount McKinley at 6,194 meters. Neighboring countries are Mexico, Canada and Cuba.

American Independence Day is July 4th (the day the Declaration of Independence was ratified in 1776).

U.S. World Heritage

  • Yellowstone National Park (1978)
  • Mesa Verde National Park with Native American Settlements (1978)
  • Grand Canyon National Park (1979)
  • Everglades National Park (1979)
  • Independence Hall in Philadelphia (1979)
  • National Parks and Tatshenshini-Alsek, Kluane, Wrangell-Saint Elias and Glacier Bay Reservations (together) with Canada) (1979, 1992, 1994)
  • Redwood National Park (1980)
  • Mammoth Cave National Park (1981)
  • Olympic National Park (1981)
  • Cahokia Mounds Site, Native American Cultural Site (1982)
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park (1983)
  • La Fortaleza and Old San Juanin Puerto Rico (1983)
  • Yosemite National Park (1984)
  • Statue of Liberty (1984)
  • Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (1987)
  • Chaco Culture National Park (1987)
  • Monticello and Virginia University of Charlottesville (1987)
  • Pueblo de Taos, Native American Residence (1992)
  • Carlsbad Caves National Park (1995)
  • Waterton Glacier International Peace Park (together with Canada) (1995)
  • Papahānaumokuākea, Hawaii, an area of ​​scattered, isolated islands, atolls and ocean areas with great natural and cultural values ​​(2010)
  • Ancient remains in the lower Mississippi Valley, created 3 700-300 BC. of hunter and gatherer communities (2014)
  • Four mission stations on the San Antonio River (2015)
  • Eight buildings that are good examples of Frank Lloyd Wright’s organic architecture (2019)


Mexico World Heritage

  • Sian Ka’an (1987)
  • The ruins and National Park of Palenque (1987)
    Mexico City and the historical center of Xochimilco (1987)
  • The ruins of Teotihuacán (1987)
  • The historical center of Oaxaca and the ruins of Monte Albán (1987)
  • The historic center of Puebla (1987)
  • The city ​​of Guanajuato and nearby mines (1988)
  • The ruins of Chichén Itzá (1988)
  • The old town of Morelia (1991)
  • The ruins of El Tajin (1992)
  • The electoral reserve of El Vizcaino (1993)
  • The old town of Zacatecas (1993)
  • Rock paintings in the Sierra de San Francisco (1993)
  • A group of 16 monasteries on the slopes of the Popocatépetl (1994)
  • The ruins of Uxmal (1996)
  • Historic urban area of Querétaro (1996)
  • Cabañas Hospital in Guadalajara (1997)
  • The ancient area of ​​Paquimé Casas Grandes (1998)
  • The historical monuments of Tlacotalpan (1998)
  • The fortified city of Campeche (1999)
  • The ruins of Xochicalo (1999)
  • The ruins of Calakmul and the surrounding rainforest (2002, 2014)
  • The Franciscan missions in Sierra Gorda in Querétaro (2003)
  • Architect Luis Barragas house and studio (2004)
  • Islands and protected areas of the Gulf of California (2005, 2007)
  • The agave-shaped cultural landscape between the Tequila volcano and the Rio Grande river (2006)
  • Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, UNAM, in Mexico City (2007)
  • Old fortified the city of San Miguel and the Sanctuary of Jesús de Nazareno de Atotonilco (2008)
  • Monarch Butterfly Biosphere Reserve, Butterfly Sanctuary (2008)
  • Camino Real de Tierra Adentro, 2,600 km long route from Mexico City to Texas and New Mexico in the United States, built in the middle of 1500- Century of Silver Transport (2010)
  • Prehistoric Caves in Yagul and Mitla in the Land of Oaxaca’s Mountain Areas (2010)
  • El Pinacate and Gran Desierto de Altar, volcanic area and desert area in northwestern Mexico. The World Heritage has previously been designated a biosphere reserve (2013)
  • Padre Tembleque’s aqueduct between the states of Mexico and Hidalgo on the Mexican high plateau (2015)
  • Revillagigedo Archipelago of the Pacific off the west coast of Mexico (2016)
  • Tehuacán-Cuicaltá Valley in southern Mexico. The area has a very diverse plant life and plenty of ancient remains that show a long-lasting high technological level (2018)


Canada World Heritage

  • Nahanni National Park (1978)
  • Historic Park in L’Anse aux Meadows (1978)
  • Dinosaur Park (1979)
  • National Parks and Reserves Tatshenshini – Alsek, Kluane, Wrangell – Saint Elias and Glacier Bay (together with the United States) (1979, 1992, 1994)
  • Anthony Island (1981)
  • Bisonox Dump Head-Smashed-In (1981)
  • Wood Buffalo National Park (1983)
  • Canadian Rocky Mountain Parks (1984)
  • Old Quebec City (1985)
  • Gros Morne National Park (1987)
  • Old Town Lunenburg (1995)
  • Waterton Glacier International Peace Park (together with the United States) (1995)
  • Miguasha fossil park (1999) Equestrian canal, built in the 1830’s for defense reasons (2007)
  • Joggins Fossil Cliffs in the East of the Country, with Fossil Finds from the Carboniferous Period (2008)
  • The Cultural Landscape Grand-Pré in Nova Scotia, cultivated in the 17th century by French settlers. The World Heritage includes, among other things, a memorial park for the residents who were expelled in the mid-18th century (2012)
  • Red Bay’s whaling station in the province of Newfoundland and Labrador. The station, built in the 16th century by Basque fishermen, has archaeological remains both on land and underwater (2013)
  • Mistaken Point, a rocky coast with rich fossil remains on southeastern Newfoundland (2016)
  • Pimachiowin Aki, a 29,000 km2large forest area on the border between Manitoba and Ontario in southern Canada. The area has long been populated by the ojibwa people (also called anishinaabeg) (2018)
  • Áísínai’pi, rock carving area on the Milk river in the US-Canada border region (2019)